A couple kisses as they sit by the sea in Barcelona, Spain

EU countries urge citizens to avoid travel to Spain

Spain’s coronavirus situation is seen as unstable by a large share of EU countries. Therefore, many of them are advising their citizens not to travel there for non-essential purposes.

The rise of COVID-19 cases in Spain is leading Schengen countries to tighten their preventive measures. Some of them are even re-imposing restrictions, in a bid to prevent another wave of the deadly virus in their country, coming from Spain, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

At present, only Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Romania and Sweden do not have a travel advisory for Spain. But, 22 of the following Schengen zone countries issued recommendations and restrictions, on August 7.


Authorities in Belgium are banning travel to Aragon, Lleida, Navarra and Barcelona.

Due to an increasing number in the COVID-19 cases, Belgium’s government recommends taking a PCR test and undergo quarantine for persons traveling from several locations. They include: Girona, Madrid, Tarragona, Country, La Rioja, Basque, Soria, Castellon, Guadalajara,  Murcia, Almeria, Valencia and Balearic Islands.


The country does not apply any restrictions for European Union and Schengen Area countries.


Travelers arriving from Spain, Italy, France, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Greece should present a negative result on a PCR test, not older than 72 hours.


The country also recommends avoiding travel to the Czech Republic, Andorra, Denmark, Norway, Poland, Estonia, Portugal and Malta. The authorities also urge to avoid non-essential travel to Spain, the Schengen Zone, and the rest of the EU.


Denmark recommends avoiding travel to Spain, Andorra, Romania, Luxembourg and Bulgaria. These countries are also subject to an entry ban, unless for emergency cases.


Travelers from Spain, Belgium, Austria, France, Monaco, Malta and the Czech Republic need to go through mandatory quarantine upon their arrival in Estonia.


Finnish nationals are urged not to travel to  Spain, Slovenia, France, Belgium, Austria, the Netherlands and Andorra.


Currently, France doesn’t have any restrictions for travelers. But, anyway travel to Catalonia and Aragon is not recommended.


Authorities in Germany advise its nationals to avoid travel to Aragon, Catalunya and Navarra. But those, who do travel must go through quarantine or present a negative coronavirus test.


The Hellenic Government urges its citizens not to travel to Spain, unless for emergency cases.


Citizens of all countries must follow quarantine rules upon arrival in Ireland. However, this excludes nationals of countries included in the ‘green list’. Spain isn’t in it.


The Italian authorities urge against non-essential travel to Spain’s areas where the COVID-19 cases are increasing.


Latvia’s government also advises against non-essential travel to Spain. In addition, there are no air connections with Spain, Luxembourg, Andorra, Romania,  Bulgaria, Sweden, Portugal, Belgium and Malta.


At present, Luxembourg does not apply any restrictions.


Norway does not recommend travel to Spain, Austria, France,  Belgium, Slovenia, the Netherlands and Andorra. But mandatory quarantine for travelers returning to Norway from the countries mentioned above is in place.

The Netherlands

The Netherlands’ government recommends only essential travel and complying with quarantine rules upon return from Barcelona as well as the outskirts; Figueres, Sagriá and Vilafant.


For now, there are no special travel restrictions or recommendations in place.


No restrictions for European Union and Schengen Area countries.

United Kingdom

Advises not to travel to Spain. Also, persons returning from Spain in the UK must undergo quarantine.


Not applying any restrictions on travel to Spain.


Slovenia’s authorities require mandatory quarantine for travelers from Aragon, Catalunya, Navarra and the Basque Country. But, there are no restrictions for those from Andalucia, Asturias, Castile-La Mancha, the Canary Islands, Ceuta, Galicia, Extremadura and Melilla.


No restrictions for travelers from other European Union countries coming to Sweden.


The Swiss authorities apply compulsory quarantine for persons arriving from Romania, Luxembourg and Spain. But this excludes Canary and Balearic Islands.

Devastated tourism sector in Spain

Spain’s economy has been profoundly affected by the devastation of the tourism sector. All this because of COVID-19.

Spain, which is known as one of the most famous European destinations for summer vacation risks losing more than 40 billion euros during this summer, due to restrictions imposed amid COVID-19 pandemic.

In an effort to revive the tourism sector during this summer, Spain’s government launched two new plans/campaigns named the Operation Summer and the Safe Tourism Plan.

One thought on “EU countries urge citizens to avoid travel to Spain

Leave a Reply