Western Balkans free roaming

Western Balkans, zero roaming fees from July 1, 2021

Western Balkans Six signed the new Regional Roaming Agreement at the second Digital Summit. It was held on April 4, 2019 in Belgrade.

This agreement, with the support of the Regional Cooperation Council and the EU, enables all-inclusive roaming area in the region. As a result, it reduced the roaming charges in the entire region in the first phase. Now it leads to a Roaming Free Western Balkans as of July 1, 2021.

Since July 2019, citizens of the Western Balkans pay between 83%-96% less in roaming charges in the entire region. 

Fees from July 2019 and from July 2021

“As heading toward final goal and zero roaming costs, you need to have just one thing in mind; to have full battery on your phone. So, stay charged! And since roaming will be free of charge as of 1 July 2021, roam free”; reads an announcement from the Regional Cooperation Council’s website.

So, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia are part of the agreement.

Representatives of the economies from the Western Balkans gathered in Brussels on December 14, 2018 to discuss the new Regional Roaming Agreement (RRA). This was at the meeting of the Western Balkans Roaming Policy, organized by the Regional Cooperation Council (RCC).

Copycat of “Roam like at Home”

On April 4, 2019, at the second Western Balkans Digital Summit in Belgrade, the Western Balkan Ministers for Telecommunications signed an agreement to gradually remove all roaming costs in the region.

As a result, the agreement will come into effect from 1 July 2019, with reduced tariffs, and from 1 July 2021, all tariffs should be removed, under the concept “Roam like at Home”.

The Roaming Regulation (EU) 531/2012 (sometimes called the Eurotariff) regulates the imposition of roaming charges within the European Economic Area (EEA), which consists of the member states of the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. In December 2016, the representatives of the Member States voted to abolish all roaming charges by June 2017.

Leave a Reply